☏ Free Consultation: (540) 585-1776

Criminal Defense FAQs – Roanoke VA

Virginia’s New Marijuana Law (2020): Civil Offense, Expungement, etc.

On April 11, 2020, Virginia Governor Ralph Northam signed into law a bill to decriminalize marijuana possession. Here is a summary of the key provisions of the law that go into effect on July 1, 2020:

Under Va. Code§ 18.2-250.1:

Possession of small quantities of marijuana (less than one ounce) shall now be a civil offense punishable with a $25 fine
No court costs . . .

Read More

Best Defenses for a DUI / DWI Charge

If you have been arrested on a DUI / DWI charge, you might be thinking right now that the state prosecutor has an easy path to a conviction.

You were stopped driving home; the officer arrested you, took a breath sample, and it was above 0.08. Open and shut, right? Not so fast. There are many ways to challenge it.

There are . . .

Read More

Prepayable Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia

Is there a prepayable fine for reckless driving in Virginia? No. But there is a range of punishments, depending on the case, so that you can budget for the likely outcome on your ticket.

For example, consider the typical case of 88 mph in a 70 mph zone on the highway. And, assume the person had one prior speeding ticket in the . . .

Read More

Have to Show Up for Reckless Driving Court Hearing?

If you were driving through Virginia, and you were stopped by a police officer for driving faster than 80 mph on the highway, there is a good chance you were cited for reckless driving.

The officer gives you a summons. It is not a traffic ticket and not prepayable. Rather, it criminal charge with a court date. So now you are wondering:

“Do I have to show up . . .

Read More

Do Reckless Driving Points Transfer Out of State?

So you were driving through the beautiful Virginia countryside, enjoying the Blue Ridge mountains and the fall leaves, on your way to a vacation destination – the beach? the Smoky Mountains? – when suddenly, blue lights flicker in your rearview mirror and your heart skips.

You have been charged with reckless driving for going 80 mph or more on a Virginia . . .

Read More

Criminal Defense Lawyer Roanoke